Subscribe to receive our weekly e-flyer or other announcements.

Career Development Education

Designer Selection Board (DSB) Briefing on Autocene

The Designer Selection Board acts as the central administrative authority for the selection of firms to provide “design services” for public building construction projects throughout the Commonwealth. Some agencies like DCAMM have their projects submitted directly to the DSB; others like DHCD and Massport come under DSB jurisdiction but are given biennial exemptions by the DSB to have their own selection bodies; still other agencies and all municipalities are exempt from jurisdiction but are required to follow DSB guidelines and use DSB forms. Rather than create new statewide paper forms, DSB now has a completely paperless, online system on the Autocene portal that is intended to be used by all public agencies that use design services.

This information session is largely targeted towards those design firms and agency personnel that are already registered in Autocene. However, the panelists will be available to answer all of your questions and provide you with an opportunity to offer suggestions for making the system better.

The presentation intends to cover the following topics:

  • Purpose and use of the system by a variety of stakeholders
  • Public Notice to Application Walk-thru
  • Inclusion of Designer Evaluations and Firm References
  • Application Submission
  • Autocene Report
  • Q & A

About the Presenters:

Bill Perkins, PE
Executive Director
Designer Selection Board
Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Bill Perkins has been Executive Director of the Designer Selection Board since 2017 and has made streamlining of operations and customer service major priorities. He is a registered professional engineer and a licensed construction supervisor with more than 30 years of experience in engineering, energy efficient construction, facilities and real estate development. Bill’s primary vocation prior to joining the DSB was as a real estate developer, specializing in Energy Star clustered residential subdivisions. He is a graduate of Cornell University School of Engineering.

Simone A. Early
Assistant Director AESU
Dept. of Housing and Community Development

Simone Early has been an architect with the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for the past 10 years. She is currently the Assistant Director of the Architecture, Engineering and Sustainability Unit in the Bureau of Housing Development and Construction (BHDC). Simone oversees a team of architects, engineers, and the sustainability developer who provide design oversight on the capital projects at local housing authorities. Her work includes providing design guidance for effective strategies for resiliency to climate hazards, improving indoor air quality, increasing energy efficiency, employing methods for aging in place, providing durable, safe and healthy housing, developing creative community space, and most recently, adapting public housing spaces to the requirements imposed by COVID-19. She is also responsible for administering the designer procurement process. As a personal and professional focus, Simone is deeply invested in advancing environmental justice and equity for low-income families.

Cancellation Policy: If you can no longer attend an event, we encourage you to find a substitution; substitutions are welcome at any time. Full refunds will be granted if cancellation is made 72 hours before the event’s start time. No refunds will be made for no-shows. Email for substitution or refund requests.

We use PayPal as our payment processor. However, you will have the option to use a credit card or debit card for payment. You do not have to have a PayPal account to register and pay for an event. When checking out you will have to choose PayPal as the payment method. However, on the next screen you’ll see the option to pay with a debit card or credit card.


  • Allison Flood,

    Greenman-Pederson Inc. (GPI)

  • Mike Sears,


  • Tori Ellis,


  • Stephanie Salsman,

    Bruner/Cott Architects

  • Jay Moskowitz,

    City Point Partners

  • Kimberly Smith,

    Gale Associates, Inc.

  • Michele McDonald,

    ColburnGuyette Foodservice Design

  • Ann McGauran,

    Tennessee Office of the State Architect

  • Chris Nordberg,


  • Kevin Webb,


  • MaKayla Allen,

    Nitsch Engineering, Inc

  • Virginia Steigerwald,

    Nitsch Engineering, Inc

  • Austin Conroy,

    Nitsch Engineering

  • Anna Luciano,

    Nitsch Engineering

  • Liza Bouton,

    HMFH Architects

  • Annie Langlois,


  • Aarathi Nirmalan,


  • Kristin Armitage-Chobot,

    IBI Placemaking

  • Sarah Lekatsas,

    GEI Consultants

  • Denise Murphy,

    CDM Smith

  • Kelly Murray,

    BSC Group, Inc.

  • Lorna Martin,

    BSC Group, Inc.

  • Aine Lunney,

    BSC Group, Inc.

  • Brittney Swedberg,


  • Christina Maloney,


  • Jenelle Pierce,

    Dawood Engineering, Inc.

  • David Easterbrooks,

    Pare Corporation

  • Faye DeMoura,


  • Maria Marcella Ziots,

    Woodard & Curran

  • Elizabeth Lawson,

    CDW Consultants, Inc.

  • Marissa Tofuri,

    Howard Stein Hudson

  • lisa Frisbie,

    AGC MA

  • Kara McLellan,

    Utile, Inc.

  • Lauren Hickey,

    Finegold Alexander Architects

  • David Choi,


  • Kim Richards,

    Allied Consulting Engineering Services

  • Preeti Karnik,

    AKF Group LLC

  • Michelle Blakemore,

    Analogue Studio

  • Michael Solomon,


  • Sandy Kane,


  • Jamie Gannon,


More Upcoming Events